$24.95 - ADD TO CART
Certified Kosher, vegan and non-GMO, Purathick is free of all common allergens including corn, wheat, gluten, soy, whey, casein, lactose and dairy.
Purathick creates smooth thickened liquids without being slimy or gritty.
Purathick can prepare with most liquids up to 24 hours in advance.
(Based on an average daily consumption of 28 oz)
Each Purathick Stick Pack Box includes 30 individual serving 2.4g sticks. Each stick (2.4g) thickens 7-8 fl oz to slightly thick (thin nectar) or 5-6 fl oz to mildly thick (nectar).
Always wash hands thoroughly with soap and water before preparation.
For best results, pour desired amount of liquid into a shaker. Sprinkle Purathick powder into liquid following usage recommendations.
Cap and shake well for about 30 seconds, or until powder is completely dissolved. A whisk, fork or blender may also be used.
Let cold liquids stand about 5 minutes until desired consistency is achieved. Warm liquids thicken up faster and can be served after 1 minute.
Mix again before serving.
Not for use with children under one year old
When shaking is not ideal, like for hot coffee or for nutritional supplements that tend to foam, use a handheld frother/mixer instead. Add the powder to the liquid, submerge the mixer, then turn on for about 10-20 seconds or until powder is completely dissolved.
Most liquids can be prepared up to 24 hours in advance. Store thickened liquids in a clean, sealed container in the refrigerator. Thickened water may be stored at room temperature.
Purathick is freeze-thaw stable, so can be used to make thickened ice cubes or popsicles.
ADD 2.4g ( 1 Stick or 1 Scoop ) FOR:
Do I have to shake Purathick to mix?
Purathick thickens liquids best when it is mixed with a shaker. We like the BlenderBottle shakers, but any shaker or mixer will do.
Is Purathick covered by insurance?
When thickening is deemed “medically necessary” some private insurance companies cover thickeners under HCPCS billing code B4100. Coverage under Medicaid/Medicare varies by state. Check with your private insurance carrier or your local state Medicaid/Medicare office for specific coverage regulations and restrictions. If covered, you’ll need to send the referral for Purathick to one of our DME suppliers.
Can Purathick thicken carbonated beverages?
It is not recommended. While Purathick will thicken the liquid, carbonated beverages will lose their carbonation when mixed with Purathick.
Does Purathick contain any common allergens?
Purathick is free of all common allergens. Gelmix does not contain dairy, corn, soy, wheat, gluten, lactose or casein. It is also vegan and GMO free.
Is Purathick kosher? Halal? Vegan?
Purathick only uses kosher, pareve ingredients, the organic tapioca maltodextrin and tara gum ingredients carry kosher certification, and calcium carbonate is considered kosher, pareve without supervision. Purathick does not use the hechsher mark on its label because the manufacturing plant does not carry kosher certification on the product at this time. Gelmix only uses halal ingredients. Purathick is vegan and does not contain any animal by-products
Why is Purathick not recommend for children under 1?
The ingredients in Purathick, while very similar to Gelmix, have only been tested for therapeutic use with toddlers, older children and adults. Gelmix ingredients have been well tested for safety and therapeutic use with infants, and is still the best option for thickening breast milk or formula for infants under 1 year old.
Where are Gelmix and Purathick manufactured?
Gelmix and Purathick thickeners are manufactured at a USDA organic certified GMP plant in South Florida, brought to you by Parapharma Tech and certified organic by QCS.
Where can I buy Gelmix and Purathick?
Both thickeners are available for purchased directly on our website and at Amazon Prime. There are a number of select retailers across the United States and Canada to purchase over the counter. There are also home health and DME suppliers of both products if your insurance provides coverage for thickeners.
Do I need a prescription?
No, our thickeners are classified as food supplements and are sold over the counter.
Does Gelmix or Purathick have an NDC code or HCPCS code?
Our thickeners are food supplements and do not qualify for an NDC code. NDC codes are only provided for OTC and prescription drugs. Instead, our thickeners carry a HCPCS Code B4100 under Durable Medical Equipment (DME) billing.